Thoughts on A Course In Miracles, Lessons 1 – 3

Awakening
Awakening

Lesson 1: Nothing I see in this room [on this street, from this window, in this place] means anything.

This keyboard does not mean anything.

The words on this screen do not mean anything.

The tree outside my window does not mean anything.

The blanket in my work basket does not mean anything.

The speakers on my desk do not mean anything.

The sky does not mean anything.

My body does not mean anything.

The cat hair on my jersey does not mean anything.

My plan for Hogwarts Minecraft does not mean anything.

Jesus said the kingdom of God is within us. So…anything that means anything must be within us as well, because only creation as God intended it is real or means anything.

When we silence the ego voice that would tell us what everything means, we create a silence and in that silence we begin to hear the whisper of spirit within each thing, telling us what that thing truly means. But what we think we know, we do not know.

Amen.

Lesson 2: I have given everything I see in this room [on this street, from this window, in this place] all the meaning that it has for me.

I have given this Surface Pro tablet all the meaning that it has for me.

I have given my wallet all the meaning that it has for me.

I have given my microfiber glasses cleaning cloth all the meaning that it has for me.

I have given the coffee cup all the meaning that it has for me.

I have given the hallway outside of my office all the meaning that it has for me.

I have given my office all of the meaning that it has for me.

I have given the supply of copy paper all the meaning that it has for me.

I have not perceived the meaning contained within the things I see because I have been too busy defining it for myself. Nothing I see means what I think it means: therefore I must stop thinking and listen for in the silence I will hear the meaning assigned to it by the Divine.

Lesson 3: I do not understand anything I see in this room [on this street, from this window, in this place].

I do not understand the paper wreath on my wall.

I do not understand the model of Hogwarts in that photograph on my wall.

I do not understand the plastic hair pick on my desk.

I do not understand the giant, bubble-buttoned blue calculator in my desk organizer caddy.

I do not understand my desk organizer caddy.

I do not understand the winter grass in my backyard.

I do not understand the grill under its cover on my deck.

I do not understand my backyard or my deck.

I do not understand my niece pouring milk into a glass.

I do not understand the milk.

I do not understand the glass.

I misunderstand everything I see because I think I understand it, but am seeing from a limited perspective. When I relinquish my perspective, I can begin to see things as they really are.

Leave a Reply

