Thoughts on A Course in Miracles: Lessons 12 – 14

 

Harlequin
Harlequin

Lesson 12: I Am Upset Because I See a Meaningless World

January 5, 2015

As you move your gaze steadily about resting briefly wherever it js caught, then moving along. As you look about you, say to yourself: I think I see a fearful world, a dangerous world, a hostile world, a sad world, a wicked world, a crazy world, At the end of the practice period, add: But I am upset because I see a meaningless world. 3 or 4 times today, up to but not exceeding a minute, and terminating whenever I feel a sense of strain.

Thoughts & Application

I think I see a colorful world. I think I see a selfish world. I think I see a loving world. I think I see a cruel world. I think I see a windy world. I think I see a weathered world. I think I see a wasteful world. I think I see a limited world. I think I see an inequitable world. But I am upset because I see a meaningless world.

Reflection

I think I feel sad today because thought I have been practicing these lessons for over a year now (just recently restarted) and today I don’t feel any different than I ever did.  I did not feel forgiveness toward my son when he disregarded his father’s need because, ‘he just started a game’ last night. And this morning I feel sad because I know that struggle with forgiveness means I haven’t really arrived at the place where I need to be, which is home. So I know I am not home, I am lost, and today with the wind howling wildly outside the world does seem especially lonely. I am upset because I see a meaningless world.

Lesson 13: A Meaningless World Engenders Fear.

January 6, 2015

Eyes Closed: A meaningless world engenders fear. Open, Scanning Steadily: I am looking at a meaningless world. Closed: A meaningless world engenders fear because I think I am in competition with God.

Reflection

I did practice this, but not sure I got anything from it.  After a TV hiatus of nearly two weeks, the evening was devoted to watching too many episodes of Grimm with my youngest.  Time well spent, all in all, for Christ is in all of us.

Lesson 14: God Did Not Create a Meaningless World.

January 7, 2015

With eyes closed, think of all the horrors in the world that cross your mind. Name each one as it occurs to you, and then deny its reality…for example: God did not create that war, and so it is not real. God did not create that airplane crash, and so it is not real. God did not create that disaster [specify], and so it is not real.

Practice

Money Worries God did not create those money troubles, so they are not real.
Alcohol Use Disorder God did not create that alcohol use disorder, so it is not real.
ISIS genocide God did not create ISIS, so it is not real.
Poverty God did not create poverty, so it is not real.
Children sold into prostitution. God did not create prostituted children, so it is not real.
My body hurts and is tired. God did not create my body, so it is not real.

Reflection

I have possibly exceeded the recommended practice sessions with this particular exercise; partly, this is because the only way I can keep from rejecting these statements is to follow it up with a positive statement about what God did create:

  • God is Love, and God created the Son in his own image. The Son is Love and the Son also creates, and everything they create is always a manifestation of Love.
  • God cannot create these horrors, because he is Love, and Love cannot beget horror.
  • I – my true self – am a manifestation of love in a world full of guilt. Guilt is the projection of the past upon the future, whereas NOW is the manifestation of love.
One thought on “Thoughts on A Course in Miracles: Lessons 12 – 14

  1. Your last statement about guilt is spot on. As someone whose been crippled by guilt at various times in my life I’ve often wondered how and why it has such strength and can be such an irrational, yet overpowering, force. One day I realized that it is my Ego which is the driving force-even in a literal sense- a vehicle and a voice, driving me toward a place where it can grow and thrive instead of me!
    God IS love and through that manifestation of love is forgiveness, healing, and acceptance. Isn’t it interesting how these things are really the exact opposite of what any Ego-driven guilt has to offer- blame, illness, and rejection!!
    SO today I will live in love, not guilt, nor fear. Love will be the vehicle I use to travel the world today. While I know the opportunities for guilt are endless, I can also use love to forgive and instead of adding any more power to that force, can shine my healing light into the world and just be my truest ME.

    Like

Leave a Reply

