Thoughts on A Course in Miracles: Lessons 15 – 18

A Fire In Her Belly, No. 001

Lesson 15: My thoughts are images that I have made.

January 8, 2015

In practicing the idea for today, repeat it first to yourself, and then apply it to whatever you see around you, using its name and letting your eyes rest on it as you say:

This ___ is an image that I have made.

That ___ is an image that I have made.

Application

That carved sign is an image that I have made.

That gum eraser shaped into a narwhal is an image that I have made.

That office supply caddy is an image that I have made.

Mark’s face is an image that I have made.

That Amaryllis plant is an image that I have made.

That painting is an image that I have made.

Reflection

If my thoughts are images that I have made, are they like my paintings? They are a representation of a thing, but not the thing itself. My words, too, are part of this invented imagery, and mean nothing, but may be fashioned by the Spirit into a footpath leading to the Atonement, a bridge that brings me back to sanity.

Some years ago, I read José Saramago’s Blindness, in which a modern urban society reverts to barbarism with shocking rapidity when its entire population is suddenly deprived of sight. I’ve always been fascinated by the implicit challenge in stories such as this: to look in the mirror and ask myself, would I have done any differently? Today, though, the story came back to mind, because if what Jesus tells us is true, then we are living in a world of Blindness already. And indeed, the horrors we inflict upon each other do recall the behaviours of the terrified blind in Saramago’s novel. From small hurts to large ones, from personal hurts to those on a global scale, we stumble about with no idea of the harm we are doing, and even less concept of how to extract ourselves from the mess that we have created. Truly we are blind!

What better news could there be for the blind than to know that our sight can be restored NOW if only we are willing?

Lesson 16: I Have No Neutral Thoughts

January 9, 2015

Thought

Application

I am alone in the world cut off from the memory of who I am. My thought of loneliness is not a neutral thought.
I cannot extend abundance to the world if I do not simultaneously accept it for myself. My thought about abundance is not a neutral thought.
I enjoyed this day to the fullest. My thought about enjoyment is not a neutral thought.

Reflection

All thoughts are simply facets of deception by the ego, so the goal is not so much to have positive thoughts as to transcend thought altogether by suspending judgment and immersing myself in experiencing the NOW moment. There, in the silence between our thoughts, we begin to hear the voice of our Divine Source.

Lesson 17: I See No Neutral Things

January 10, 2015

Thoughts & Applications

I see my artwork from Shiloh Sophia’s Visionary Woman Workshop I do not see neutral artwork, because my thoughts about artwork are not neutral.
I see my Red Thread from Red Thread Café. I do not see a neutral red thread, because my thoughts about my red thread are not neutral.
I see my Hogwarts floorplan. I do not see a neutral floor plan, because my thoughts about the floor plan are not neutral.
I see snow on my back porch and in my back yard. I do not see neutral snow, because my thoughts about snow are not neutral.
I see nighttime. I do not see neutral nighttime, because my thoughts about nighttime are not neutral.

Reflection

I can choose to see things positively or negatively, but so long as I am looking through the lenses of my past I will not see present truth. Rather, I will see only that which I know from my past, and with my “seeing” I will recreate my past, reliving its joys and its sorrows, its fears and its trials – but never creating.

To silence the critical chatter that runs constantly in my head, I must immerse myself in the experience of this moment. (Bad Wolf is The Moment.)

Today was a day full of wonderful thoughts, actually – mostly present moment thoughts. It’s true, I spent some time in anticipation of Shiloh Sophia’s workshop, but just as much in active, immersive preparation and participation. If there are no neutral thoughts, today’s were on the whole very positive thoughts or perhaps not even thoughts at all so much as experience. The more I practice my art, the less I time I will spend intellectualizing my world. In the NOW, “My happiness and my function are one.” (ACIM Lesson #66)

Lesson 18: I Am Not Alone in Experiencing the Effects of My Seeing

January 11, 2015

Thoughts & Applications

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing the mess in my kitchen.

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing my art supplies.

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing my PC headset.

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing my son interrupting my practice.

(Aside: Can’t I find a minute today?!)

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing #JeSuisCharlie.

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing the news articles about “I Am Not Charlie”.

I am not alone in experiencing the effects of my seeing the Red Thread Café explosion of creativity!

Reflection

If I am irritated, I am also irritating others. If I am experiencing creativity and joy, then others also experience it with me. Since creativity always happens in the NOW, by being awake to my senses I can bypass my thoughts and help others experience with me the effects of REALITY in place of my illusory thoughts.

Leave a Reply

