Thoughts on A Course In Miracles: Lessons 35 – 37

Color Play #009
Color Play #009

Lesson 35: My Mind is Part of God’s. I Am Very Holy.

January 28 – 29, 2015

For each of the three five-minute practice periods today, begin by repeating today’s idea to yourself, and then close your eyes and search your mind for the various kinds of descriptive terms in which you see yourself….Pick up any specific situation that occurs to you, identify the descriptive term or terms you feel are applicable to your reactions to that situation, and use them in applying today’s idea. After you have named each one, add: But my mind is part of God’s. I am very holy. As often as possible during the day, pick up a specific attribute or attributes you are ascribing to yourself at the time and apply the idea for today to them, adding the idea in the form stated above to each of them. If nothing particular occurs to you, merely repeat the idea to yourself, with closed eyes.

Lesson 36: My Holiness Envelops Everything I See

January 30, 2015

Four three-to-five-minute practice periods are required for today. Try to distribute them fairly evenly, and make the shorter applications frequently, to protect your protection throughout the day. The longer practice periods should take this form: [f]irst, close your eyes and repeat the idea for today several times, slowly. Then open your eyes and look quite slowly about you, applying the idea specifically to whatever you note in your casual survey… Several times during these practice periods, close your eyes and repeat the idea to yourself. Then open your eyes, and continue as before. For the shorter exercise periods, close your eyes and repeat the idea; look about you as you repeat it again; and conclude with one more repetition with your eyes closed. All applications should, of course, be made quite slowly, as effortlessly and unhurriedly as possible.

Lesson 37: My Holiness Blesses the World

January 31 – February 1, 2015

Today’s four longer exercise periods, each to involve three to five minutes of practice, begin with the repetition of the idea for today, followed by a minute or so of looking about you as you apply the idea to whatever you see… Then close your eyes and apply the idea to any person who occurs to you, using his name and saying: My holiness blesses you, [name].

You may continue the practice period with your eyes closed; you may open your eyes again and apply the idea for today to your outer world if you so desire; you may alternate between applying the idea to what you see around you and to those who are in your thoughts; or you may use any combination of these two phases of application that you prefer… The shorter exercises consist of repeating the idea as often as you can. It is particularly helpful to apply it silently to anyone you meet, using his name as you do so. It is essential to use the idea if anyone seems to cause an adverse reaction in you. Offer him the blessing of your holiness immediately, that you may learn to keep it in your own awareness.

Reflections on Lessons 35 through 37

Between getting Mark home on Monday, missing half a day of work due to the snowstorm on Tuesday and executing on the Baystate Toastmasters club charter ceremony Thursday night, it has been a very full week. At some moments, it has felt entirely overwhelming. Last night, we had company, and instead of reviewing my First Story Moon lesson with Shiloh Sophia, I wound up giving a painting lesson to a girl named Jackie whom, along with her boyfriend and his own girlfriend, Raley had brought over to hang out. It was amazing, but again I had NO time to myself last night. Even this morning…I got up and got my kitchen and studio space cleared and tidy so I could enjoy my space at last, and the minute I poured my tea: “Come Upstairs.” A peremptory text from Mark: remembering a heart episode from about 2 years ago, I went upstairs in a panic! He was fine…just missing me. Which is sweet, but my goddess what do I have to do to reclaim my time for writing and reflection.

Now it is Sunday night and I feel like I have ruined all my efforts thus far to practice these lessons because I just haven’t slowed down enough and stayed with them at all. So…what do I do now? Google it, of course! And Google delivered me to the article What Do You Do if You Skip the Daily ACIM Lesson? by Sean Reagan. Among other things, he observes the following

We are so invested in being right and reaping the benefits and, conversely, of being wrong and suffering the consequences. It is so ingrained in us and it is such a source of worry and fear and guilt. And the course is teaching us that this kind of thinking – right and wrong, good and bad – simply doesn’t exist. It’s not real…

So don’t worry if you miss a lesson. Remember that you have already passed this course. You are already a teacher of God ready to save the world. Your remembrance of this simply beautiful fact is only a matter of time. Come back to the course. Come back to the lessons. Choose again, in confidence and love.

Choose again, in confidence and love. Wow.

And so…in this moment, what do I want to choose? Frankly…I don’t want to miss a single bit of this journey. Almost to the point of delaying my own recognition of the Holy Instant, perhaps…but anyway, the thing is, from where I stand NOW in this moment, I want to experience what these lessons have to offer. And so, I think what I will do is I will continue tomorrow with Lesson 38, but I will dwell a bit longer on these lessons as well, perhaps reviewing these ideas and incorporating them into my practice of the upcoming lessons 38 and beyond in the next few days. A choice, made with confidence and love – it feels good!

One thought on “Thoughts on A Course In Miracles: Lessons 35 – 37

Leave a Reply

