Thoughts on A Course In Miracles: Lessons 38 – 40

Lesson 38: There is Nothing My Holiness Cannot Do

February 2, 2015

In the four longer practice periods, each preferably to last a full five minutes, repeat the idea for today, close your eyes, and then search your mind for any sense of loss or unhappiness of any kind as you see it. Use this form in applying the idea for today: In the situation involving _____ in which I see myself, there is nothing that my holiness cannot do. [Also,] In the situation involving _____ in which _____ sees himself, there is nothing my holiness cannot do… Introduce whatever variations appeal to you, but keep the exercises focused on the theme, “There is nothing my holiness cannot do.” … In the frequent shorter applications, apply the idea in its original form unless a specific problem concerning you or someone else arises, or comes to mind. In that event, use the more specific form in applying the idea to it.

Application (Selected)

In the situation involving my scheduling responsibilities, there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

In the situation regarding a colleague’s combative response to my query about a scheduling snafu, there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

In the situation regarding my being still ultimately stuck in a job running other people’s careers via scheduling instead of having an actual career of my own creating anything worthwhile, there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

In the situation regarding Mark’s health there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

In the situation regarding my friend’s lack of appreciation for her mother’s babysitting services and treating her mom like a subordinate there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

In the situation regarding my own lack of progress within the ACIM course there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

In every way I feel weak, helpless, trapped, guilty, anxious, ineadequate, exhausted and less than…in all these situations there is nothing my holiness cannot do.

Reflections

My holiness has already accomplished for me everything that I wish for it to accomplish because what I truly wish is God’s wish and I am frustrated because I simply cannot remember what it is I truly wish for. Nonetheless, there are aspects of my life and work which I wish I could change NOW and not have to wait until my understanding catches up with my reality. I feel almost in tears today over stupid scheduling issues at my job. I don’t WANT to do this job any more, but I don’t know how to escape from it: nothing I do from my heart ever seems to grow or come to fruition in a way that allows it to take center place in my life. All my life feels like dead fruits on a vine.

I should be celebrating some wonderful news I got on Friday and instead everything around me is at some fever pitch of intensity that I can’t even appreciate the good gifts I’ve been given…

I feel like I am under siege and in this situation there is nothing that my holiness cannot do.

Beloved Spirit, judge for me because I am completely blind: help me to remember that everything I see is either the manifestation of love or the call for love. Help me to respond with love.

Beloved Spirit, judge for me in all things that I may learn from you what my Holiness can do!

Lesson 39: My Holiness is My Salvation

Slowly, without conscious selection and without undue emphasis on any one in particular, search your mind for every thought that stands between you and your salvation. Apply the idea for today to each of them in this way: My unloving thoughts about _____ are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

…Meanwhile, you should feel free to introduce variety into the exercise periods in whatever form appeals to you. Do not, however, change the idea itself as you vary the method of applying it… End each practice period by repeating the idea in its original form once more, and adding: If guilt is hell, what is its opposite?

In the shorter applications, which should be made some three or four times an hour and more if possible, you may ask yourself this question, repeat today’s idea, and preferably both. If temptations arise, a particularly helpful form of the idea is: My holiness is my salvation from this.

Application (Selections from Late Evening)

My back is sore and I am tired. My unloving pain thoughts are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

I feel inadequate to the task of manifesting my dreams, and unworthy of them. My unloving thoughts of unworthiness and inadequacy are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

I felt fear when Mark said he was going in late to work today. My unloving thoughts of fear are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

I felt dismay when my colleague resigned, and also a bit of jealousy. My unloving thoughts of Jealousy and dismay are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

I feel guilty for having forgotten my mother and father. Beloved spirit help me to remember. My guilt feelings are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

If guilt is hell, then holiness is salvation.

Reflection

My mother and my father have not forgotten me. They love me and are only waiting for me to awaken from my insanity and my attachment to this ego.

God created all things as holy. My holiness is my salvation, your holiness is my salvation, and together we are the salvation of the entire world.

Beloved Spirit, help me see the holiness in everything I see.

Bright flashes of light behind my eyelids as I write this? What does it all mean?

I would be innocent, and see your innocence, but My unloving thoughts of loneliness are keeping me in hell. My holiness is my salvation.

Beloved spirit judge for me, for I cannot judge correctly for myself

Amen.

Lesson 40: I am blessed as a Son of God.

Today we will begin to assert some of the happy things to which you are entitled, being what you are. No long practice periods are required today, but very frequent short ones are necessary. Once every ten minutes would be highly desirable…

Repeat the idea for today, and then add several of the attributes you associate with being a Son of God, applying them to yourself… If only a brief period is available, merely telling yourself that you are blessed as a Son of God will do.

Practice

Because this lesson urges frequent practice throughout the day, I chose a physical way of practicing it to keep it before me as a reminder. It helped tremendously!

Dividing a blank page into 26 sections, I progressed more or less through the alphabet over the course of the entire day. Every few minutes – as often as I coudl remember – I reviewed today’s idea and added more attributes which I associate with being a Child of God to my page. I had a lot of trouble with the end of the alphabet, especially “X”. But occasionally negative attributes came to mind and as I had written them down, I found “X” to be very useful in crossing those negative attributes out!

I Am Blessed As a Child of God
I Am Blessed As a Child of God
One thought on “Thoughts on A Course In Miracles: Lessons 38 – 40

  1. That ‘s a great little exercise! I feel a lot like this, too: “I don’t WANT to do this job any more, but I don’t know how to escape from it: nothing I do from my heart ever seems to grow or come to fruition in a way that allows it to take center place in my life. All my life feels like dead fruits on a vine.”

    I’m shaking my head, saying “Yyyyuuup.” All I really feel called to do is share the word … but I can’t seem to accept it for myself. I have a full time job and four mouths to feed so making income is still a major concern for me. Yet the things I try to do on the side to better my position and hopefully free me up just don’t work. Thanks for reminding me of the happy, good things!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

