Thoughts On A Course In Miracles: Lesson 41

Lesson 41: God Goes With Me Wherever I Go
Lesson 41: God Goes With Me Wherever I Go

Lesson 41: God Goes With Me Wherever I Go.

February 5, 2015

There will be only one long practice period today. In the morning, as soon as you get up if possible, sit quietly for some three to five minutes, with your eyes closed. At the beginning of the practice period, repeat today’s idea very slowly. Then make no effort to think of anything. Try, instead, to get a sense of turning inward, past all the idle thoughts of the world. Try to enter very deeply into your own mind, keeping it clear of any thoughts that might divert your attention…

Throughout the day use today’s idea often, repeating it very slowly, preferably with eyes closed. Think of what you are saying; what the words mean. Concentrate on the holiness that they imply about you; on the unfailing companionship that is yours; on the complete protection that surrounds you.

You can indeed afford to laugh at fear thoughts, remembering that God goes with you wherever you go.

Reflections

I enjoyed the longer, meditative practice period today when I first awoke, and during the day I was given a very clear vision of how these practices make me more resilient against the vicissitudes of life. Mark called me just when I got into work today to say he received a homeowner’s insurance policy cancellation notice in the mail. I did freak out a bit, maybe a minute and a half, but I wasn’t paralyzed by the fear. Literally right at hand was my “meditation page” for the day (more on this below), and I immediately called today’s lesson and many other lessons of this course to mind: God goes with me…there is nothing my holiness cannot accomplish…my holiness blesses the world.

My panic turned to assurance – not “self-assurance”, but spirit-assurance – and I allowed myself to hear the Call for Love in my sweetheart’s voice. Before the end of the call, we agreed on a simple plan of action; a few minutes later, I sent him a couple of love songs I’ve been meaning to share with him: the time was exactly right. [Sorry, not sharing here what those songs are. That’s just between me and him and the Universe, so you’ll have to ask the Universe if you want to know. If the Universe answers you, that’s just fine with me 🙂 ] Next, I reached out to our insurance agency on the phone and found a quick and simple solution, profusely thanked our agent, and returned to work actually feeling better than before the incident, because it validated everything I am studying and am learning to believe: that when we look on the world in Love and answer every Call with Love, there is no purchase or foothold for Fear.

Now, as to my “meditation page”: the page I kept yesterday worked so well to help me stay focused on my practice, that I decided to apply it again today, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future in any lessons requiring frequent application. Today, I started by drawing a few sketch lines; then, throughout the day, I wrote today’s lesson over the lines in black ink. Over and over until all the pencil lines were covered. At the end of the day, I painted over my completed ink drawing, and the result is the image at the top of this post. It is engaging me with the lessons in a whole new way, and I can’t wait to see what this new practice will ultimately reveal!

3 thoughts on “Thoughts On A Course In Miracles: Lesson 41

  1. This event was written with such love and compassion that it struck a chord in my heart, i suffer from stress related illness and am working the course but am a novice. Thank you and wishing you God’s Peace! Bobby

    Like

    1. Some days are better than others, but Now is always better than Then. I am glad this writing brought something of value to you, Bobby…Namaste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

