Thoughts on A Course In Miracles: Lessons 46 – 48

Lesson 46: God is the Love in which I forgive.

February 10, 2015

Today’s exercises require at least three full five-minute practice periods, and as many shorter ones as possible. Begin the longer practice periods by repeating today’s idea to yourself, as usual. Close your eyes as you do so, and spend a minute or two in searching your mind for those whom you have not forgiven… It is a safe rule that anyone you do not like is a suitable subject. Mention each one by name, and say: God is the Love in which I forgive you, [name].

…After you have applied the idea to all those who have come to mind, tell yourself: God is the Love in which I forgive myself. Then devote the remainder of the practice period to adding related ideas such as: God is the Love with which I love myself God is the Love in which I am blessed… The practice period should end, however, with a repetition of today’s idea as originally stated.

The shorter practice periods may consist either of a repetition of the idea for today in the original or in a related form, as you prefer. Be sure, however, to make more specific applications…at any time during the day when you become aware of any kind of negative reaction to anyone, present or not. In that event, tell him silently: God is the Love in which I forgive you.

Reflections

I applied this idea fairly consistently today, and especially toward myself when I felt I was responding badly to some situations at work. I am considering how to heal my capacity to receive, and surely forgiveness toward myself is a large part of that work! How can the unworthy person receive? How can the inadequate person create abundance? The idea is really helpful in responding when people are driving aggressively as well, as seemed to be more prevalent today than usual.

Lesson 47: God is the Strength in Which I Trust

February 11, 2015

Today we will try to reach past your own weakness to the Source of real strength. Four five-minute practice periods are necessary today, and longer and more frequent ones are urged. Close your eyes and begin, as usual, by repeating the idea for the day. Then spend a minute or two in searching for situations in your life which you have invested with fear, dismissing each one by telling yourself: God is the strength in which I trust… It is not by trusting yourself that you will gain confidence. But the strength of God in you is successful in all things.

In the latter phase of the practice period, try to reach down into your mind to a place of real safety. You will recognize that you have reached it if you feel a sense of deep peace, however briefly. Let go all the trivial things that churn and bubble on the surface of your mind, and reach down and below them to the Kingdom of Heaven . There is a place in you where there is perfect peace. There is a place in you where nothing is impossible. There is a place in you where the strength of God abides.

During the day, repeat the idea often. Use it as your answer to any disturbance. Remember that peace is your right, because you are giving your trust to the strength of God.

Application (Late Morning)

God is the strength in which I trust. I fear financial difficulty, but I should not because God is the strength in which I trust. I fear arguments with Mark over financial control in our house, but I need not, because God is the strength in which I trust. I fear the failure of my latest business idea, Silver Kayak Studios, but I need not, because God is the Strength in which I trust.

God is the strength in which I trust, and Spirit is the Wisdom which guides me.

I fear being stuck in my same role forever at work, and never getting a promotion., but I need not fear because God is the strength in which I trust. I fear the promotion I desire, but I need not, because God is the strength in which I trust. I fear losing the love of my sons for the failure of my marriage and my mistakes in mothering, but I need not fear, because god is the strength in which I trust. I fear losing my parents before we can be reconciled in this life, but I need not fear, because God is the strength in which I trust.

I fear, but I need not fear, because God is the Strength in which I trust, and the Beloved Mother is the Wisdom which guides me in the ways of love. God’s love and power are infinite, and Love’s wisdom can see all aspects of every problem and show me the perfect loving solution for every single thing in my life. I open my heart and lay all of my intentions up on the altar of God’s Love, there to be transformed into Light in the world for the promotion of the flow of abundance in this world. Amen.

Application (Late Afternoon)

God is the strength in which I trust. I am afraid that my family may lose our home due to our financial difficulties, but I need not fear, because God is my strength. I am afraid that I will mess up at work somehow and lose my job and income, but I need not fear, for God is my strength. I am afraid of disappointing Kerri Tepedino because I don’t know how to pull the money together to participate in her Perfect Health Mastery program, but I need not fear, because God is my strength. I am afraid my Silver Kayak will be another stillborn project and that I will fail yet again because I am somehow inadequate, incapable or – worse yet – subconsciously blocking myself from success, but I need not fear, because God is my strength.

I am afraid that Mark will drive me mad or drive me away but I need not fear because God is my strength. I am afraid I will be left on my own to support this family because of Mark’s drinking and health problems, and that I will not be adequate to manifest even the basic things we need, much less my dream of being self-employed and working in a creative collaborative way that satisfies my soul and fulfills my divine life purpose, but I need not fear because God is my strength. Amen.

Meditation Page

The anniversary of my parent’s releasing me from their lives is coming up soon, and it’s raising a lot of questions for me.  I posed these to my friends in the Red Tent the other day:

Why do you suppose it is that parent child relationships are so often fraught with expectation, disappointment, demand, recrimination?  At this moment I would give anything just to take a walk with her, or have a cup of tea and watch Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade or Pride and Prejudice (the Lawrence Olivier version) for the umpteenth time. What wounds and scars are layered upon the souls of mothers that make it so difficult for their love to rise to surface?

Havi Brisk Mandell’s response struck me in particular:

I think all moms have those “wounds and scars” from their own daughter experiences and it keeps spiraling around, hopefully, a bit different, better, wiser, more loving. 

May these words, ideas and lessons become my Yellow Brick Road, leading me out of fear and into the expansiveness of Love.

Love is the Strength In Which I Trust
Love is the Strength In Which I Trust

Lesson 48: There is nothing to fear.

February 12, 2015

Today’s practice periods will be very short, very simple and very frequent. Merely repeat the idea as often as possible.. The presence of fear is a sure sign that you are trusting in your own strength. The awareness that there is nothing to fear shows that somewhere in your mind, though not necessarily in a place you recognize as yet, you have remembered God, and let His strength take the place of your weakness. The instant you are willing to do this there is indeed nothing to fear.

Mediation Page

I do not wish to live in fear, unworthiness and inadequacy. The image I chose to create for today’s meditation is an image of my Silver Kayak, expanding to carry myself and a group of beloved companions on a quest toward adventures in abundance.

I Have Nothing To Fear
I Have Nothing To Fear
Leave a Reply

